Activating the Power of the Root Chakra

Energy, awakening, grounding, and evolution

Do you find yourself constantly living in survival mode? Does each new day feel burdened with anxiety and fear almost before it even begins? Is it hard to relax without worry overriding your thoughts? These are all signs of an imbalance of the root chakra. Here’s what you need to know set things right!

Staying in tune with our bodies is vital to our quality of life. Many of us are only vaguely familiar with the existence of chakras, having little or no idea of how to maximize their potential within our own bodies. Each of our chakra centers is a fascinating energy hub with complexities and personalities, much like our friends and family. In the same way we would grow a relationship with a loved one, we can nurture a relationship with our individual chakras, growing and learning along the way.

What exactly are chakras?

In Sanskrit, the word chakra translates into wheel or disk. Each of the seven spinning wheels corresponds with specific major organs and nerve bundles within the human body, spanning from the tailbone base to the crown of the head.

When one of our chakras becomes unbalanced specific symptoms will manifest within our body, emotions, and thoughts. Eventually, one imbalance will begin to affects our whole chakra ecosystem. Becoming better acquainted with each of our unique chakras can help us keep them aligned and spinning smoothly.

The Root Chakra The root is the first of the chakra systems and is located at the spine's base. Though all of the chakras hold great significance in our bodies, I’m always extra aware of my root chakra because it’s most closely associated with grounding. More times than not, many of my issues come down to a lack of being grounded. It’s a healthy practice to check this chakra regularly.

Symbolism Symbolism is significant when learning chakras. One can imagine the root chakra as a serpent sitting coiled three and a half times upon itself at the base of the spine. Many believe the three coils represent the past, present, and future. The half coil perhaps symbolizing transcendent consciousness.

Muladhara is the Sanskrit name for the root chakra, and its pictorial symbol is the lotus flower with an inverted triangle. The four lotus petals represent different elements of the human psyche, including:

  • mind

  • intellect

  • consciousness

  • ego

Symptoms of an imbalance within the root chakra To better understand an imbalanced root chakra's symptoms, let's explore the specific physical areas affected by this chakra along with the emotional and spiritual.

The Root Chakra directly impacts the adrenal glands, colon, muscles, kidneys, and blood passing through the heart's left chamber, carrying nutrients and oxygen to our body. Emotionally and spiritually, in the most primal sense, the root chakra gives us the motivation to eat, sleep… even to love. It’s connected to our sense of self-esteem, stability, self-worth, sense of belonging, and security.

Clear signals that there are issues with the root chakra will present themselves when these areas are challenged or become compromised. The root chakra roots us to the earth giving us our stability. When a traumatic life situation or event occurs, this energy center can become drained and weakened, leaving us feeling unsure of ourselves, fearful, depressed, angry, disorganized, detached, lacking concentration, unable to set goals, and even suicidal.

These are all seriously destructive emotions and thought patterns that need to be addressed as quickly as possible.

“ Maybe you are searching in the branches, for what only appears in the roots.” — Rumi

How to find and open your root chakra Opening chakras has a different benefit for your bodily and emotional health. There are several methods for opening chakras. The easiest and most widely used is chakra meditation. This technique is much like regular meditation, only focusing on a specific part o the body. The root chakra is located at the base of the spine. To open your root chakra, follow this easy meditation technique.

  1. Find a comfortable and quiet space to begin the meditation. Sit with your shoulders back and straighten your spine. Focus on relaxing your muscles and close your eyes. Inhale deeply through your nose, pulling the air as far down into your body as you can… then gently exhale through the mouth.

  2. With your eyes closed, focus your thoughts on the location of the root chakra, right below your tailbone.

  3. The root chakra vibrates with a red glow at the base of your spine. As your attention to this area heightens, the area will begin to feel warm and relaxed. Continue to concentrate on the area and sensation for 3–5 minutes.

  4. When you feel ready, open your eyes slowly. You may want to sit for a few minutes before standing, allowing yourself to reacclimate to your surroundings.

“Surely a man needs a closed place wherein he may strike root and, like the seed, become. But also he needs the great Milky Way above him and the vast sea spaces, though neither stars nor ocean serves his daily needs.” — Antoine de Saint-Exupéry

If you are comfortable using crystals with meditation, I would highly recommend considering the use of black tourmaline, tiger’s eye, obsidian, red jasper, hematite, bloodstone, or fire agate to amplify the effects. Root chakra element If you haven't guessed it yet, the root chakras element is earth. Like the tree that needs the earth to take root, grow, and find strength and security on windy days, we too, must be firmly planted. It’s my most sincere hope that you will feel inspired to explore this beautiful chakra whether you feel it’s in need or not. Often I practice techniques as weekly maintenance of my energetic self. Give it a try! You’ll be pleasantly surprised by how refreshing adopting such a practice can be for your mind, body, and soul.

Chakras are beautiful gateways into a deeper, richer quality of being. Acknowledging them is the beginning of a wonderful relationship between us and our higher selves. This article is the first of a seven-part series dedicated to each of the chakras.